The RRofihe Trophy

2011 RRofihe Trophy
For an unpublished short story
(up to 5,000 words)
Winner Receives:
$500 cash
Announcement on the Open City web site
Publication on
 Judged by Rick Rofihe
2011 Contest Assistant: Carolyn Wilsey
Carolyn Wilsey has read fiction for Esquire and Swink

* Stories should be typed, double-spaced, on 8 1/2 x 11 paper with the author’s name and contact information on the first page and name and story title on the upper right corner of remaining pages.
* Submissions must be postmarked by October 15, 2011
* Limit one submission per author
* Author must not have been previously published in Open City or Anderbo
* Mail submissions to RRofihe, 270 Lafayette Street, Suite 705, New York, NY 10012
* Enclose self addressed stamped business envelope to receive names of winner and honorable mentions
* All manuscripts are non-returnable and will be recycled.
* Reading fee is $10. Check or money order payable to RRofihe

Rick Rofihe is the author of FATHER MUST, a collection of short stories published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux. His fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, Grand Street, Open City, Swink, Unsaid, and on,, and His nonfiction has appeared in The New York Times, The Village Voice, SPY, and The East Hampton Star, and on A recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, he has taught MFA writing at Columbia University. He currently teaches privately in New York City, and is an advisor to the Vilcek Foundation for their 2011 prizes in the field of literature. Rick is the editor of the new online literary journal,


There were exactly 200 entries in the 2010 Open City Magazine
RRofihe Trophy Short Story Contest.

The Winning Writer is Amy C. Bonnaffons of New York City for her story
"The Wrong Heaven".
She will receive a prize of $500, a trophy, and publication of the story in
Open City #31.

The 2010 RRofihe Trophy Runner-Up is Mac Barrett of Brooklyn, New York for his story "We Call This Living; or, Ghosts".

The 2010 RRofihe Trophy Special-Mention Stories (2) are:
"This Was Going to Work Out Fine" by Barbara Arno Modrack" of Brighton, Michigan.
"Baboon" by Jan Stinchcomb of Austin, Texas.

The 2010 RRofihe Trophy Top-Ten Stories include:
"The Airplane Hangar" by Anelise Chen of New York City.
"Release" by M.E. Parker of McKinney, Texas.
"An Incident at the Plaza" by Elizabeth Kadetsky of New York City.
"One of the Funner Parties I Have Been To" by Katya Apekina of St Louis, Missouri.
"Scared" by Adeola Adeniyi of Brooklyn, New York.
"Perfect Soup" by Olivia Shih of New York City.

The 2010 RRofihe Trophy Top-Twenty Finalist Stories included entries from:
Annie DeWitt of Brooklyn, New York; Meakin Armstrong of New York City; Michael Di Gesu of Chicago, Illinois; Victoria Moon of New York City; Tamela J. Ritter of Haymarket, Virginia; Rashanna Rashied-Walker of Brooklyn, New York; Elizabeth Richards of New York City; Lindsay Allen of New Orleans, Louisiana; Brent Shearer of New York City; and, Jessica Pishko of New York City.


There were 244 entries in Open City's 2009 RRofihe Trophy Short Story Contest.

The 2009 RRofihe Trophy Winner is:

Leslie Maslow of Brooklyn, New York
for her story "Mum", which will appear in OPEN CITY #28

6 Runners-Up:
"Zoo", by Corey Campbell, Santa Monica, California
"I Really Do Know My Last Name", by Avi Kramer, Greenfield, Massachusetts
"Throwing Stones", by Adam Gallari, Riverside, California
"Drinks", by Amy Halloran, Troy, New York
"Big Baby...", by Nick Kocz, Blacksburg, Virginia
"Bewitched", by Renee Hahn, San Francisco, California

6 Stories of Note:
"The Places You Find Yourself", by Jerome Edwards, Los Angeles, California
"Hospice of the Au Pair", by Vanessa Blakeslee, Maitland, Florida
"In Lieu of Writing a Novel, Here is a List...", by Denise Burrell-Stinson, New York, New York
"Apostasy", by Jennifer Uhlich, San Leandro, California
"The Six Hillocks of Hiss", by Jennifer Greidus, Mechanicsville, Pennsylvania
"680", by Edward Evans, Sacramento, California

8 Special-Mention Story-Writers:
Carolyn Silveira, Brooklyn, New York
Paul Vidich, New York, New York
Florian Sedlmeier, Salzburg, Austria
M. E. Brown, Bellingham, Washington
Christopher Insana, Flushing, New York
Katri Skala, London, England
Suzanne Lenzer, New York, New York
Mariana Dietl, Los Angeles, California